Player Agency

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Apr 20, 2017 2:57 am
Hi All,
It is me again!

I was wondering how you all work in player agency in PbP? I have been DMing in the PbP format for about 10 months now and I have been DMing in real life for about 5 months. I feel my IRL DMing is improving because I have an avenue for player feedback. I can see their faces and talk to them before and after a session. We also have a FB group that we post in.

But in PbP I feel I could use a few strategies to get the players to help create the world. I want them to come up with crazy ideas (to be fair many of them do but I am greedy I want more) and make me change my planning. Part of the problem may be that their interests are not perfectly aligned with mine and so I have a hard time writing content that fits their needs.

I know we have the OOC discussion forums but they tend to not be very active.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Apr 20, 2017 4:09 am
Tell them you want these things.

Tell them that you are giving them artistic license to narrate what is going on around them, what or who is in a room, and to add flavor to the world so that it is a living breathing thing.

Tell them that so long as they are reasonable, and don't use this artistic license for blatant mechanical advantage, or to circumvent your narrative as GM that you will be happy to have them helping you create the world and the story.

This next part is the most important part; now you have to learn how to cede some of your control as GM, and how to trust them with this kind of "power", and how to run your game with a certain, not insignificant, amount of unpredictability.

It's wonderful.

Every once in a while you'll have to say, "Wait wait, no, sorry. Gonna have to roll it back here a bit. You went a little too far." and ret-con something, especially while people learn what does and doesn't "work".