FFG Star Wars Skills and Results for PBP

Apr 28, 2017 5:51 pm
I am new to PBP but I'm a HUGE fan of Star Wars. I may run a game but I'm not sure how to handle the skill checks. In person we build the pool and together decide the result but on here how would we do it? does the player ask the difficulty and then roll the pool? does the GM roll the pool and decide? or does the player roll the positive die and the gm roll negative then decide?
Apr 28, 2017 5:58 pm
It's really up to the GM, but I've seen it (in the one game I played) as the player rolling their pool, then a standard difficulty of 2 dice. If it's more or less than that the GM adjusts as necessary, making additional rolls if he needs to
Apr 28, 2017 6:43 pm
Yea, depends on your style.

In the game I'm running, what I prefer is that the players just say what they're doing, and I ask for a roll when it's needed;
OOC:
Okay, you're bluffing here, so make a Deception check against their Discipline (3 for a Gand), plus a Setback cuz it's buddies are watching.
You can also call for an upgrade, flip a Destiny Chip, etc.

But it doesn't always happens that way. Sometimes the player knows they're gonna need a roll, or WANTS to make a roll to reinforce their rp, or so on and they'll either ask for the Diff, then Edit the post to add the roll after I've responded, or do as Naat said and take a shot at the Average Dif and I adjust it accordingly.

As for Adv/Dis/Tri/Dsp, if your players know the system well enough to know how they want to spend them, they'll Edit the post after the roll results have posted, and say OOC what they want to do with them.
Apr 29, 2017 1:46 pm
There are a number of games where there is some back and forth on resolving an action. I find that these games are, unmodified, very hard to PBP effectively. What inevitably happens is that it takes three or four days to resolve an action, and the other players are sidelined.