[D&D 5e] Advice for a Level 1 Dungeon Master

May 3, 2016 11:11 am
After playing my first proper D&D game (as a PC) here for over a year, I've convinced 3 friends to have a go at tabletop D&D in a few weeks. We've all been playing videogames/boardgames for years so we know all the tropes and the D&D setting, how RPGs "work", and they have some level of familiarity with basic tabletop RPG concepts. However, this is my first time DMing, and their first time (AFAIK) playing in an actual tabletop game.

I'm planning on starting with the D&D Starter Set (5e) as that has some pre-gen characters if my friends don't get around to making their own (which I've asked them to do ahead of time) and an adventure for level 1 characters, plus it comes with dice etc and generally seems like good value.

So, I'm looking for advice on how to prep for DMing. For example, something I read elsewhere was "get your PCs to level 2 asap as level 1 guys are pretty fragile". I have a handle on how a game runs with respect to the combat mechanics, skill checks, and the like, but never having played a game in person I imagine there are some differences with how you handle various aspects. What's a good way to sketch maps? Show the layout of the current area?

Any tips, tricks, or links to aforementioned "tips & tricks" would be greatly appreciated.
May 3, 2016 11:39 am
My biggest piece of advice for new GMs: don't sweat the small stuff. Whether with rookies or veterans, you lead the game; don't let rules get in the way of fun. There'll almost never be a reason to stop the game to dig through the books for an obscure detail/rule. If you're unsure, I always recommend making it up and then looking it up later.