A new player sits at your DnD table...

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Jul 22, 2021 1:35 pm
...They've read the PHB and have a good grasp of the base rules including how to run their character. They ask "What do I need to know that isn't in the book?"... What do you tell them?

I am very thankful for the people that make up Gamer's Plane in accepting me here and easing my foray into PBP and TTRPG to an extent...as a newbie I have found many helpful people here that have helped me get into a game, learn it and have tolerated my weird quirks lol. That said, I know that a lot of newcomers are more informed in the system they are trying to play and would like to know more. What if the ''newbie'' asked the question above?
Jul 22, 2021 4:07 pm
The rules are just guidelines for us all to have fun. They are not a weapon to beat each other over the head with. But that goes for any game.
Jul 22, 2021 4:29 pm
I think this is really, at best, the session zero talk, right?

I'm by no means an expert on session zero, because, with the exception of PBP, I've been gaming with the same circles of ppl for about 11 years, so we all kind of already know where we all fall on this stuff... And with PBP I haven't been explicit about this stuff until fairly recently.

But as DM, I have started by telling them what I want out of the game. Which includes, as DM:
1. my gaming "style" (strict RAW, don't care about RAW/expect rulings on the fly and variability, somewhere in between, specific house rules, etc.)
2. my narrative style - which can include everything from:
A. the tones and themes of the campaign that I have in mind (low/high fantasy, politics and intrigue, investigation, horror, heists, etc.)
B. how "adult" the story might be (I default to the American movie-rating scale), before getting into specifics, which will also include...
(i) my and others' "Lines and Veils"