What’s your favorite ttrpg system?

Oct 2, 2022 3:27 pm
I’m sure this has been asked before, but a discussion on the Discord channel got me wondering what everyone’s favorite system is. I’ve been playing for 37 years, so my favorites have changed quite a bit from the start of my gaming career until now. I’ve settled on D&D (whatever iteration is current) to introduce new players to the game, and Fate as my system of choice. What’s yours?
Oct 2, 2022 4:50 pm
I like 5th edition, which might be a pretty Basic choice but it's a pretty solid system I think.

At least compared to previous editions, 5th is vastly streamlined and I think the advantage/disadvantage system works really well in practice compared to doing tons of arithmetic with modifiers.

I think D&D's Armor Class mechanic is unintuitive, but otherwise it's been fun to play and to DM.
Oct 2, 2022 4:52 pm
If you think the AC system is counter intuitive now, you would have hated THAC0.
Oct 2, 2022 4:59 pm
Oooh
Those were the days.

I've got AC -5 try to hit me!

I unfortunatelly haven't played TTRPGs on table top since D&D 3.0.

I guess I would say 5E now. For I love playing that by voice/video.
Last edited October 2, 2022 5:01 pm
Oct 2, 2022 5:07 pm
JoshuaMabry says:
favorite system is?
It depends on what story and tone you want to achieve.
Horror, investigation, being a kid, heroic epic tales, superheroes, silly, funny, complex, light... The list goes on

Pathfinder 2e has a lot of complexity for a fantasy game. 13Age has just enough in the combat area and the goes rules ligth on the rest. And I have a soft spot for Dracka och demoner (english version called Dragonbane) just out of kickstarter

For modern-day games, I would look to FATE, Kids on brooms and similar. World of darkness Werewolf and Mage lives in the complex rules conor.
For Sci-Fy games, I like Fantasy Flights Star Wars games, with their narrative dice pools
Last edited October 2, 2022 5:08 pm
Oct 2, 2022 5:16 pm