Out of character thread

load previous
Jun 11, 2024 8:18 am
Good to go, I'll fix the character sheet tomorrow morning.
Jun 12, 2024 3:32 am
Also good to go.
Jun 19, 2024 8:54 pm
Hey all. Sorry for my absence. My sickness has really put me down a notch unfortunately. Next week I am finally seeing the specialist who can hopefully give me an aid that will alleviate most of the symptoms. Please do not hold up anything for me. I hope to be back in action soon after.
Jun 20, 2024 9:28 am
I wish you a quick recovery @Khulod.
Jun 21, 2024 3:47 am
Same, being sick sucks. Being chronically sick is something I can't begin to imagine. I hope you get some kind of solution from you specialist.
Jun 21, 2024 2:16 pm
Get well soon. :D
Jun 21, 2024 2:18 pm
Get better soon
Jun 22, 2024 5:21 am
GM: Was when you specialize in something in character creation is that like a +2 or Advantage on the roll?
Jun 22, 2024 5:56 pm
A specialization gives you an expertise die for checks made pertaining to the specialization (+1d4, if you already have a +1d4 on that check for whatever reason, it turns into a +1d6, and so on up to +1d8).
Jun 22, 2024 6:17 pm
kalajel. Will write that on the character sheet so I don't ask again.
Last edited June 22, 2024 6:19 pm
Jun 26, 2024 6:12 pm
GeneCortess says:
kalajel says:
OOC:
You cannot disarm with your flurry of blow as those are bonus attack actions and not "standard" actions. I know, it's confusing and frustrating at first, I played a monk myself, had to go through this whole "you can't do that" explanation as well. Maneuvers replace one or more "standard" attack actions (specifically stated as coming from the Extra Attack class feature). Bonus attack actions thus cannot be used for maneuvers as they are not "standard" attacks but rather a bonus action. Yeah, apparently in 5e (and I assume a5e as well), there is this world of difference between an attack action and an attack performed as a bonus action (or reaction for that matter)... So right now, your flurry of blow is used to punch one of the scouts. The second one hits, so you can go ahead and roll your unarmed damage.
Interesting. You can't use maneuvers for AOO either then as they are reaction attacks and not standard attacks. Eye'ing how not to use Scarfs's combat maneuvers.
OOC:
I will continue this discussion here to avoid cluttering the game's thread.
Exactly!
Basically, you have to pay careful attention as to how an ability is worded. If it states "as pat of an Attack action" or something to that effect, it means the attack(s) you perform using your standard action (i.e. you did not chose dash, disengage, dodge, etc.) during your turn in the initiative order. This is often done for balance reason, to avoid a powerful ability being used too often in the round. When it say "when performing an attack you can..." or something to that effect, then it means any sort of attack, whether performed using a standard or bonus action, or even a reaction.
This is why monks (or adepts in a5e) hits that cliff before any other classes by virtue of the sheer amount of attacks they can deal in a round. So basically, monk/adept learning curve is a bit steeper than other classes because of that.
Jun 26, 2024 6:25 pm
Psybermagi says:
OOC:
some maneuvers I believe are listed as bonus action or reaction. So if they say that then I can used them then, but it takes that shot and can't be combined with glory of blows

Use damage tiles above
(damage:1d4+3) (2) + 3 = 5
Entirely possible. This would be a case of specific trumps general, however, I went back to check to make sure and Disarm indeed specifies Attack actions.
Jun 26, 2024 6:36 pm
Question. Can Sneak attack be used for non-standard attacks. I don't know if it is considered a maneuver or not. I don't own advance source materials.
Last edited June 26, 2024 6:38 pm
Jun 26, 2024 10:27 pm
GeneCortess says:
Question. Can Sneak attack be used for non-standard attacks. I don't know if it is considered a maneuver or not. I don't own advance source materials.
So far, the only limitation I'm seeing (outside of the obvious needing an ally who's not incapacitated within 5' of your target or having advantage on the attack roll) is that this can be performed only once per turn with a finesse weapon or ranged attack.

Source: https://a5e.tools/rules/rogue
Jul 9, 2024 6:31 pm
Emberskyes says:
OOC:
I copied the spell direct from the website and it just says Dex halves.
I'll continue the discussion here to avoid cluttering the game's thread. Yeah, it's something you must calculate, there should be a place on your character sheet to note it. For you, since you're a sorcerer, it's going to be 8 + your proficiency modifier + your Charisma modifier, as noted here under Spellcasting Ability.
Jul 9, 2024 10:51 pm
13 most likely, 15 if we use my +5 for saves.
Jul 10, 2024 2:52 pm
13. You use your charisma modifier, not your charisma saves.
Jul 16, 2024 5:59 pm
Okay, guys, please, when using spells or combat maneuver, please include your spell save DC (for spells) or Maneuver DC (for combat maneuvers) in your posts each time. This will speed things up as I won't have to constantly ask you what the opponent needs to roll.
Jul 17, 2024 3:02 am
I'll try to remember.
load next

You do not have permission to post in this thread.