OOC - Metagamery and the Passing of the Cheetos

load previous
Sep 30, 2016 6:38 pm
HypCo says:
Hold on, would the madman be considered prone?
Edit: Never mind, I kinda of assumed he was sitting down.
he might be considerd constrained but i think best bet for sneak attack is hitting one of the other possible prisoners/the guy next to me.
Sep 30, 2016 6:52 pm
Okay, I believe I rolled everything correctly, first time using a barbarian. With the shield bash, if there isn't another prisoner within 5 ft. I'll shove the guy Ranor and I attacked instead. (Posted this in the wrong thread, sorry.)
Sep 30, 2016 6:54 pm
Yup, looks good. Powerful feat - I assumed there was no resistance roll to it for now other than having to hit the AC, but I'll double check the actual rules in the future.
Sep 30, 2016 6:55 pm
It is a contested roll, they roll athletic or acrobatics. PBH p.195 under Shoving a creature.
Reading through rage I have advantage on strength checks, I got the same number however.
Last edited September 30, 2016 7:05 pm
Sep 30, 2016 7:07 pm
Sorry, it took my bonus action to rage, I couldn't shield bash. Edited my post to reflect that.
Sep 30, 2016 7:34 pm
(PBH = Peanut Butter & Honey) That's cool, I edited the response, too.
Sep 30, 2016 7:34 pm
Just so I'm ready for next round would it be a bonus action to draw both warhammers from Holnirs belt or would I only be able to get one out a round?
Sep 30, 2016 7:36 pm
Just one this round - there is a feat (Dual Wielder, me thinks) that allows you to draw both weapons with the bonus action.
Sep 30, 2016 7:38 pm
Haha, I always seem to mess up acronyms. In the game I'm GMing, I posted my out of character thread as 'occ', which I didn't notice until way after.
Sep 30, 2016 7:45 pm
Qralloq says:
Just one this round - there is a feat (Dual Wielder, me thinks) that allows you to draw both weapons with the bonus action.
Ah, was just checking the PHB when you posted that, didn't realise I could draw a weapon as part of my move action (thought it had to be my bonus action which I used to jab the second attack) so I'll edit my post to reflect drawing his first hammer this round if that's ok?
Sep 30, 2016 7:46 pm
mcneils5 says:
...so I'll edit my post to reflect drawing his first hammer this round if that's ok?
+1
Sep 30, 2016 7:49 pm
Groovy, I have however just realised that now the crazy dude has a couple of axes....oops lol
Sep 30, 2016 7:52 pm
He has mad chops! (Get it? okay, I'm sorry.)
Sep 30, 2016 7:52 pm
I may be wrong here, and it is up to Qralloq, but I think it is generally accepted that you ready your weapons on initiative. Unless you get get surprised.*
Last edited September 30, 2016 7:54 pm
Sep 30, 2016 7:54 pm
HypCo says:
I may be wrong here, and it is up to Qralloq, but I think it is generally accepted that you ready your weapons on initiative.
Well he took out axes trew them and now has to switch weapons
Sep 30, 2016 7:54 pm
HypCo says:
I may be wrong here, and it is up to Qralloq, but I think it is generally accepted that you ready your weapons on initiative.
I have never played with that rule. Instead, I give players a chance to describe things leading up to combat. If your weapons remain sheathed when I yell Initiative, you'll have to resort to resolving that within actions.
Sep 30, 2016 7:57 pm
Then yeah, on that one, you can only draw one warhammer with a free action (sans. the dual wielder feat.) but drawing your second one takes your action.
Sep 30, 2016 7:57 pm
GaztheDm says:
HypCo says:
I may be wrong here, and it is up to Qralloq, but I think it is generally accepted that you ready your weapons on initiative.
Well he took out axes trew them and now has to switch weapons
I had the axes out when the screaming started (before the first round) and the call out on page 190 of the PHB says you can draw/pick up a weapon as part of your movement action which is why I figured it'd be OK to do it that way as Holnirs not moved....happy to adjust things though if it seems a bit much to do in one round (figure it may be pushing it a bit lol)
Sep 30, 2016 7:58 pm
I should also point out a knock-out rule in 5e (I don't have the book in front of me). You can decide that a blow that takes someone to 0 hit points is a knockout rather than a potentially killing blow - no negatives on the dice to exercise that option.

"Sometimes an attacker wants to incapacitate a foe, rather than deal a killing blow. When an attacker reduces a creature to 0 hit points with a melee attack, the attacker can knock the creature out. The attacker can make this choice the instant the damage is dealt. The creature falls unconscious and is stable."
Sep 30, 2016 8:05 pm
In that case, Rybia probably doesn't have his shield out (-2 AC) and if it's okay, i'd like to knock him out.
load next

You do not have permission to post in this thread.