I'm new to DnD and I need some help lol

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Apr 10, 2018 1:55 am
So as it is I still haven't played a game yet, I've watched many tutorials but it's still a bit daunting. I've also watched heroes and halfwits and it's a major part of my desire to play. One of my friends own the starter edition but he lost it and isn't motivated enough to find it. So I was hoping to gather enough tools, learn how to play, and run a really basic low resource adventure to get them into it. I want to play but I also want to run. My main question isn't much of a question its more of a call for help. The rules are vast and overwhelming and not knowing what I need makes it hard to gather the right stuff, if any of you have advice or anything that I may use id love it. Thank you
Last edited April 10, 2018 1:56 am
Apr 10, 2018 2:38 am
For starters, you pretty much only need the Players' Handbook, The Game Master's Guide, and the Monster Manual. Everything else is basically just icing on the cake...
Apr 10, 2018 3:41 am
5e is pretty tame compared to earlier versions! I think the number one rule of RPGs is... have fun with it. The rules only matter as much as you care about them. Sure, to play DnD by the rules takes a bit of time, but I recommend you take it incrementally. Learn how to make a character (the PHB has a great guide), learn how skills work, and learn the basics of combat, and take it from there. You've already unlocked an infinite number of stories, but from there you can be more complex: when do certain skills apply? What about magic items? How does cover work? Don't fret the details until you're ready for them. Just get started and figure it out from there.
Apr 10, 2018 4:59 am
If you just want to "get into it" without a lot of upfront cost, you can download the free PDFs of the basic rules. It has all you need to start running a D&D game.

Player Basic Rules
DM Basic Rules