OSR games their differences and setting

May 23, 2024 1:37 am
First I love old school rpgs. I have been playing rpgs since 1979 and cut my teeth on D&D, Gamma World, Star Frontiers, traveler (had more than 1 character die in character creation) and so on.

I have been playing for almost a year 2nd Edition D&D again with a group of players once week.

I would like to possibly run some more games with that D&D old school feel (B/X or advanced). I love various rules systems and their quirks and the settings that give them life.

So I have not delved to deeply into the various OSR game that are out there. I have used Castles and Crusades in the past, I just downloaded OSRIC and I also have, though I cannot remember how, Adventurer Conqueror King. As I was looking through ACKS today I noticed it only went to level 6 spells. This got me thinking of other D&D retro games and what makes them similar or different from D&D and other clones.

So for those with the knowledge, give me a rundown of an OSR game and what makes it stand out from other similar games.

I am also interested in any settings developed for those particular games. As I would love to run some adventures that have the old-school feel like those of the past but also fresh and new. As much as I love Keep on the Borderlands, I have run that adventure as least 30 times and possibly more.

So I figured I would take advantage of the knowledge those here have and see what is out there and may fit for me to run either as possible one shots or even a campaign with.

Len

May 23, 2024 6:31 am
Viking1031, I salute your interest in old school gaming!

By the Gods, I've been on this journey for some time now. I've been buying and consuming OSR systems and adventures, running and playing OSR games IRL and in PbP, reading the foundational blog and forum posts, and listening to the sage podcasts.

Trying to understand the entire OSR (and the NSR) is like trying to take on a megadungeon. And I'm loving it!