Greetings Everyone!

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Jul 23, 2018 2:39 am
Hello all!

Stumbled on this site and thought it was worth looking into a bit. I'm not new to RPG's or pbp, but I am new to this site so an introduction seemed in order.

I've been playing roleplaying games for about 19 years on and off. Got my start growing up after a friend introduced me to AD&D 2nd Edition which was the thing at the time. Really got heavy into gaming during high school with White Wolf and all the World of Darkness game lines; being a big horror fan those really appealed to me. For a time, I tapered off with playing anything and surprisingly it was D&D 4e that dragged me back in and acted as a springboard for me learning all about the OSR, story games and all kinds of things.

For me, the storytelling aspect of RPG's is what appeals to me most, so I've always enjoyed trying all kinds of different systems and styles and generally find something to appreciate in every game though I have my personal favorites. I have always had a soft spot for play-by-post since narrative tends to take a greater focus in that format despite the slower pace.

Currently, I've been lucky to be a part of a public meet-up group based out of our friendly local game store.

However, it has also been a source of some frustration for me lately. For the past two years or so, all anyone seems to want to play is D&D 5e. I think it's a great game (to me it feels like a Greatest Hits album of D&D elements), but there are all these other games I'd like to run or try playing alongside that as well. Unfortunately, the fervor in our area for 5e is so great that we've reached a point where it feels impossible to get a group going for anything else. Players won't even give stuff a shot and just tell me "let us know when you give up and run 5e again."