What Kind of Characters Do You Play?

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Jun 10, 2020 5:43 pm
So, I know I’m new around here, but here’s a potential topic I always find interesting. As a bit of a precursor to this conversation, I’m a psychologist IRL, and I always find it interesting how certain parts of our personality seep into characters we play. I, for example, tend to always end up with a character who is a tad on the insecure side, but covers that up in one way or another, whether that’s with being abrasive, overly bombastic, or just plain rude. It’s actually helped me connect and work through some of my own baggage, which has been very meaningful.

So now the topic: I’m curious if you find yourself playing certain kinds of characters, or what you’ve learned about yourself through your characters. I know not everyone approaches the hobby this way, but I also know that some do, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on the topic.
Jun 10, 2020 6:25 pm
I've realized I like being the responsible one! I almost always play either some kind of support, or a tank. I don't usually like the limelight and fame of the big damage numbers, but I love the feeling of "good job, kid. I kept you alive so you could finish the job." I've since spun that into realizing I'd be really happy as a trainer in my career, rather than on the frontlines. It's way more satisfying to see someone do well after you've given them the tools succeed. Or I guess in this case, to see the rogue land a backstab after you held the dragon down for a few rounds.
Jun 10, 2020 6:26 pm
I try and play a huge variety of characters. Now maybe they all end up being variations on the same sly rogue I want to be, but I set out to try all sorts of different types of personalities.

The one I have the most trouble with are fast talkers. I love the idea, and that goes great for a few posts, but then is quickly abandoned if only because I'm inherently lazy.
Jun 10, 2020 6:39 pm