New kid on the block

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Nov 7, 2020 4:57 pm
I stumbled upon this site while looking (again) for viable play-by-post systems. I also have an insane rpg itch going on, so I thought I should poke around here!

My name is Spooky, I've been playing Pathfinder for about 4 years now and it's consumed my life. I also have some practice with FATE Core. My roleplaying journey as a whole dates way back to 2006, so forum play is how I first started. Interesting that I ended up back here again!

My favorite genres are medieval fantasy/adventure and sci-fi. Magic is pretty much always a must! I prefer playing mages and support/control type characters, but Barbarians are also awesome.

If anyone is willing to recommend (and I understand what this site is about) a system they think works best for play-by-post, do share! I'm trying to run a Pathfinder game via Discord with a group that has no shared freetime, and so far I've thought to instead run it in FATE, but it's a very grandiose rise to power adventure. (For those familiar, the original campaign uses the Mythic ruleset pretty early on in the overall game, so yes: epic story.) I worry that FATE won't convert well (and strip the players of the significance of ascending) but that Pathfinder would take too long to advance or become a hassle.

And if I should ask that particular question elsewhere, let me know. Otherwise, I'm very excited to explore this site and possibly join some games. If it goes well, I may put the one I'm trying to run here!
Nov 7, 2020 5:25 pm
Welcome Spookiboo. Imho, anything can work well on pbp, but what works best are systems where there isn't a lot of negotiating results. GM calls for a roll, player rolls, you're done. Each time you have to go back and forth on a single roll, add two days.