New to PbP. Hello there!

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Apr 3, 2022 3:37 am
Hello!
I am Eli. I am new to PbP, but have played a few games IRL. Love a lot of things (starwars, brandon sanderson novels, Art), and try to make my characters fun and (mostly) lighthearted. I am usually pretty shy in IRL games, but I am hoping that the format of PbP will help me do a little more Roleplay. But, I DO love strategic combat! Final Fantasy Tactics and X-Com are some of my favorite games

Anyway, Feel free to message me! If the message goes to my email, I will try to get back to you asap, as I check it 2-3 times daily
Apr 3, 2022 3:56 am
Welcome Aboard, Eli!

If you'd like to get to know the community a bit better, I'd recommend jumping into the DISCORD channel. There's a lively book discussion group centered around author Brandon Sanderson. Of course, you'll find a lot of other GP denizens with a wide variety of interests. GamersPlane has a really open and welcoming community!

@bowlofspinach should drop you a slew of links for GamersPlane help & tips along with the invite to the DISCORD channel soon enough.

I enjoyed playing the X-COM games on PC and console over the years. It's a unique experience to be sure! There are ShadowRun and Battletech PC games that follow a similar turn-based tactical format you might enjoy.
Apr 3, 2022 4:54 am
Welcome, Eli!

If you want to see how GP functions, here are links to the New GP Member Guide, the forum rules, this video introduction made by user Qralloq and a little helpful formatting guide made by user Adam. You might also be interested in looking through some public games as well to get a feel for the site.
If you have any questions about how to use the site, you can put them into our Questions and Help subforum.

To join a game, keep your eyes on the Games Tavern, where GMs advertise their games and look for players.