Quick analysis of character names here on GP

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Jul 22, 2022 9:03 am
One of my most significant hurdles in character creation is coming up with a good name for my character. So to get inspiration I looked through my other character names the search for inspiration

So I made a histogram of the first letter of my current GP character that went into play. It showed me that I did not have a character where the first letter was "U" or "Q" and that was enough for me to come up with a name.
https://i.imgur.com/hgcsPbg.png
Now since I do data analysis for a living I poked one of our awesome dev and got a database dump of all the 23.070 characters. Of those I cleaned up the names, and removed emojis and special characters (i.e. * " @ ^). I took only those marked PC and with a character name longer than 1 character after cleaning. That left us with 16.087 characters

https://i.imgur.com/rG7Pedi.png

What I found was that the general trend is remarkably similar to my own distribution. M,R,S,T and A are popular, while I Q and U are unpopular.
In the word cloud, we see a lot of Captain's, Agent's and Brother's
Jul 22, 2022 9:54 am
This makes sense as the some of most common letters in English are r,s, t, and a (nice). More shocking is you have 0 names starting with D or V! Very cool info presentation though! I tried to analyze mine but I realize I need more characters lol.
Last edited July 22, 2022 9:54 am
Jul 22, 2022 10:55 am
I wonder if this dataset correlates to the score values of letters in Scrabble.

I'll leave that to smarter people to determine.
Jul 22, 2022 11:50 am
That's a fun little analysis. Interesting
Jul 22, 2022 8:34 pm
Is this based on sheet names? I often name my sheets "[name of the game] - [character name]", so I bet I contributed to that "[" percent. XD

I love how the cloud has both Captain, Capt and Captian. That's a lot of captains! I wonder how many of them are fantasy, modern and sci-fi...