@ JamaisVu: Might as well post in the psionic rules form The Grey Men Alien Resource Guide...
Focusing The Mind
Psionic abilities rely on the power of will and an intense focus to manifest. [Greys] harness their own inner strength by spending points from their Presence attribute directly, or gather power through time spent on focused meditation. This gathers points of energy they can use for their different abilities.
- Outside of combat, they gather 1d6 points of energy for every 15 minutes of focused meditation.
- In combat, they can spend an action to gather 1 point or spend a full turn (two actions) to gain 2 points.
- In either case, they can attempt to "rush" the process with a Presence roll. If they succeed, they gather twice the rolled number. IF they fail, they lose a point of Presence.
Note: Any points of presence lost will affect any Presence-based rolls until healed. Healing during downtime heals 1d6 HP or 1d6 points of Presence after 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep.
Psionic Abilities
A psionic practitioner has many different abilities they can learn to harness. They may be learnt through practice and the use of a Purchase Roll.
When using a Psionic ability, the player makes a Presence roll at No Advantage and declares how many points of energy they are using for the spell
(ability perhaps? maybe a copy/paste type from Tattered Magicks?). For instance [a Grey Leader] might declare they are using Mind Pierce on an enemy [space marine] with 2 points. It works like this:
- With a critical success, the ability occurs as described and any effects or damage are doubled.
- With a normal success, the ability occurs as described.
- With a normal failure, they lose 1 point of those declared for the action and the rest go back to the pool.
- With a critical failure, all declared points are lost and the character loses 1 point of Presence
(which is why I guess the Grey Mind background allows for the debilitating headache instead, because otherwise it would be 2 bad results simutaneously...).
A few things to note:
- A character can only spend 1 point of energy per action and you can only use a psionic ability once per turn. That equates to 2 points of energy for a single ability for a single ability in a single turn or one action on a 1 point ability and one action doing something else like moving.
- If the character wants to push their ability, they can "rush" using a particular ability and double the number of points used to 2 per action or 4 per turn. This means the Presence roll is at a Disadvantage.
- If the character wants to use more than one turn to "charge" an ability with more points, they can do so over connected turns. For instance, putting 4 points into an ability over two turns, or rushing an 8 point ability over two turns. If they do this and get attacked, they must roll Save vs. Presence to not lose focus.
Losing Focus
If interrupted while charging an ability, they must roll Save vs. Presence to not lose focus:
- If they succeed, they can continue to charge their ability.
- If they fail, they lose 1 point and whatever points they have charged so far will roll back into their pool.
- If they critically fail, they lose all points charged up to that point along with 1 point of Presence
(again, my interpretation of the Grey Mind background is an alternative to that result...).
OOC:
So, they don't seem to specify how many psionic abilities you begin with, but seeing you can learn more via a Purchase Roll (which is a bit weird, but okay), I guess this would assume it works a bit like equipment, and you thus begin with a single one.
@ Bookrat: Good catch. I based my sheet off the official sheet in the rulebook and they don't even have a space for Backgrounds on their own official sheets! Preposterous! I'll fix this post-haste! Heck, there isn't even a space for Energy and Psychic abilities...
As for the "space between", as far as I can tell, those would be the various mining operations, minor colonies, and scientific outposts in other areas of the solar system which are not Earth, Luna, Mars, and The Field. Heck, I guess even the station DV-3a orbiting Venus to keep an eye out on the Skaali would count...