Ask Me Anything: Dmbrainiac

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Dmbrainiac

bowlofspinach

Jul 10, 2024 5:52 pm
In an attempt to get to know the community and other users on GP better, we want to allow a different member each week to step into the spotlight.
You can find more information here.
About me:
Name: Dmbrainiac (or just Brainiac)
Professional: TV News Director
RPG Interests: I began with West End Games’ d6 Star Wars system in middle school. I started playing D&D when 3rd edition debuted, then moved onto Pathfinder 1E and 2E. I dabble in other systems as well, most notably Shadow of the Demon Lord and PbtA games.
Non RPG Interests: Video games, comic books, movies, AI art
Other: Married, two daughters, one cat

Ask Me Anything.
There are no further AMAs lined up after this one, so if you are interested, please apply to do an AMA next in this thread.
Dmbrainiac
Jul 10, 2024 6:10 pm
Okay, so you’re pretty much THE GM in some circles. My questions are:

1️⃣ Favorite system that you’ve GM’d?

2️⃣ Favorite system that is neither Paizo nor PbtA?

(If your answer to #1 WASN’T a Paizo or PbtA system, remove the letter n’s from question #2.)

3️⃣ What is the most fulfilling part of GM’ing?

And obligatory Orlando-based question:

4️⃣ Which Disney park (or rides) would you transform into an RPG, and within that park (or of those rides), where would the BBEG be?
Jul 10, 2024 6:23 pm
1. Pathfinder is my bread and butter, so I'll have to choose that, specifically Second Edition. I've been GMing with thr system and campaign setting for so long that it feels like home. Plus, the books and adventures are overall extremely well-written and inclusive, so they make for good reads even when I'm not actively in a game.

2. At the moment, I'd say Shadow of the Demon Lord, again mostly because of comfort and familiarity. But I'm always trying out new systems, so maybe I'll have a new favorite at a later time. :)