Pathfinder2e The Spurned hath no fury like alchemy

load previous
Mar 16, 2020 2:45 pm
Emberskyes says:
Damage rolls.
Thank you. computing.
New map up soon.
Mar 16, 2020 7:32 pm
OOC:
Ok, I'm new to PF2e. I have three actions. I'm not sure I understand how actions work. I see the icons by the actions. Also, I'm not sure where I am. The most recent map is not there.
Tarquin will throw up his left hand, gem facing towards the goblarian in front of him. With a moment of concentration, he activates Dissonance. The gem flares purple for just a moment. Tarquin forcefully open the target’s mind to precognitive forces without any guidance or failsafe. The goblarian is overwhelmed by visions of personal loss and grievous injury.
OOC:
T: The target is stunned. Duration: 1 round per 4 levels

Can Tarquin attack with the short sword, while the goblarian is stunned?
Last edited March 16, 2020 7:43 pm

Rolls

Dissonance Activation +5 (lvl)+4(cha)+2(tn)+1(item focus)=12 - (1d20+12)

(17) + 12 = 29

Mar 16, 2020 8:08 pm
HoorayRat says:
OOC:
Ok, I'm new to PF2e. I have three actions. I'm not sure I understand how actions work. I see the icons by the actions. Also, I'm not sure where I am. The most recent map is not there.
Tarquin will throw up his left hand, gem facing towards the goblarian in front of him. With a moment of concentration, he activates Dissonance. The gem flares purple for just a moment. Tarquin forcefully open the target’s mind to precognitive forces without any guidance or failsafe. The goblarian is overwhelmed by visions of personal loss and grievous injury.
OOC:
T: The target is stunned. Duration: 1 round per 4 levels

Can Tarquin attack with the short sword, while the goblarian is stunned?
1. Record the change in your focus points. you've spent one.
2. New Map.
3. I need to roll will save for the Goblarian. Ex+4, level+5, Wis+0= Will save: +9... 1d20+9
We will use your activation roll result as the Save DC.

The goblin is stunned 1, for 2 rounds. (*Yes. you can attack a stunned target, but I will check the core rule book regarding the stunned condition and spells that cause it).

Rolls

Goblarian will save against Tarquin's psychic attack. - (1d20+9)

(14) + 9 = 23

Mar 17, 2020 12:50 pm
Larkin will reach down to his belt, grasping the mask of Nethys and place it upon his face, his eyes arcing blue energy as the mask fuses there. He squeezes his holy symbol while reciting a quick prayer, "Nethys bring thy might to bear against these beasts, they have no respect for magic, let's change that..."

With that, he will cast "Spiritual Weapon" Behind one of the stunned goblin, and a glowing, floating archmage staff will flash into existence before swinging down to crack the goblin on her head. Larkin will then throw and hand up and a bluish forcefield of energy will spring forth between him and the goblin creatures.
OOC:
I'm using two actions to cast spiritual weapon and attack with it and then my last to cast Shield.

Rolls

Spiritual Weapon Attack - (1d20+12)

(15) + 12 = 27

Spiritual Weapon Force Damage - (1d8+4)

(8) + 4 = 12

Mar 17, 2020 1:38 pm
OOC:
With my remaining 1 action can I attack with my sword?
Mar 17, 2020 1:38 pm
Tarquin has 2 actions remaining this turn. I shall inform you of an option you currently have. At 5th level the Psion gains Trance. You may enter a Trance state to continue to use the Dissonance psychic attack, for free (no cost in focus points) as long as you continue to successfully activate it, or end the trance. it is an option you have. (*This capacity was created for the psion class as they do not have the ability to use unlimited cantrips as other casters do. it also gives psychic attacks that "Speed of thought" feeling.)

Larkin bringing your holy symbol up as a focus was a part of your casting of Spiritual Weapon, and you directed the ArchMage Staff to strike. According to the spell description you are at the moment out of actions this turn. You may sustain the spell for free in the following round(s), but each time you direct the weapon to strike counts as if you have attacked in melee as well. in the next rounds you may attack with the spiritual weapon 3 times per turn if you should so choose. Just like the speed of an archer firing arrow after arrow...

However, directing the spiritual weapon to strike a different target and/or move will cost one action via the "Sustain a spell" action.
Mar 17, 2020 2:35 pm
OOC:
"When you cast the spell, the weapon appears next to a foe you choose within range and makes a Strike against it. Each time you Sustain the Spell, you can move the weapon to a new target within range (if needed) and Strike with it. The spiritual weapon uses and contributes to your multiple attack penalty." From my reading of the spell description, the first strike that it makes is free when casting the spell the first time, so it would just be 2 actions to "cast and strike" in that first round. After that, I can spend 1 action to sustain it, which allows me to move and attack once with it in further rounds. Or am I reading it in a different way? We can play it however you like though. I just read it as 2 actions to cast/strike the first round, and then 1 action to sustain/strike in further rounds.
Mar 17, 2020 4:05 pm
REALIST says:
Tarquin has 2 actions remaining this turn. I shall inform you of an option you currently have. At 5th level the Psion gains Trance. You may enter a Trance state to continue to use the Dissonance psychic attack, for free (no cost in focus points) as long as you continue to successfully activate it, or end the trance. it is an option you have. (*This capacity was created for the psion class as they do not have the ability to use unlimited cantrips as other casters do. it also gives psychic attacks that "Speed of thought" feeling.)
Won't that leave Tarquin vulnerable to attacks by the other goblarians?

Can he target the other goblarians?
Mar 17, 2020 4:41 pm
OOC:
Is defending automatic or does it cost an action to say, "I assume a defensive stance against incoming attacks"? I’d look but I’m on the job at an MVA right now.
Mar 17, 2020 7:05 pm
HoorayRat says:
[quote="REALIST"]Won't that leave Tarquin vulnerable to attacks by the other goblarians? Can he target the other goblarians?
1. No. Trance does not cause a penalty to perception, movement, or anything. The limitation is that it must be a repeated activation rolls of the same psychic attack.
2. Yes. You can change targets.
Mar 17, 2020 7:21 pm
Tower_Shield says:
OOC:
After that, I can spend 1 action to sustain it, which allows me to move and attack once with it in further rounds. Or am I reading it in a different way? We can play it however you like though. I just read it as 2 actions to cast/strike the first round, and then 1 action to sustain/strike in further rounds.
The power of faith, when the divine grants a miracle...
God does not go half way.*

You do not have to waste actions to "Sustain" a miracle with your personal energy; however, every command given to the divine Agent granted to serve you in this moment of need, does count against you. Making the weapon attack counts as though you had attacked, commanding the weapon to change targets or move... that will require the sustain action as you must commune to command.

In essence, you have the psion "Trance" feature as long as you command the spiritual weapon.
(*Though god does say, "It will be in accordance with your faith". i.e. This is why all divine miracles are not "Maximized" and "Empowered". We are the stumbling block, it is our faults that create our limits.)
Mar 17, 2020 7:45 pm
Emberskyes says:
OOC:
Is defending automatic or does it cost an action to say, "I assume a defensive stance against incoming attacks"? I’d look but I’m on the job at an MVA right now.
Such things may have become class feats for other classes. Yet, the weapon trait "Parry" costs an action to gain its benefit of a +1 AC.
normally Staves have the Parry trait...
If I recall correctly, Your Elven Sword of the Sirocco has ALL of the properties of a least staff of the tempest.
Wielding your blade to defend yourself takes one action to manipulate/interact the weapon.

As per the Staff, you wield your weapon to defend yourself. Gaining a +1 to AC. there was no statement requiring this defensive grip to end if you do not keep spending actions on defending your self.
Mar 18, 2020 2:30 am
OOC:
If it's one action for Dissonance, then he'll use it on the other two goblarians.
Seeing that the goblarian to the west is stunned,Tarquin starts to hum just a bit, "ohmmm." He shows the goblarian to the south the back of his glove
OOC:
Dissonance activation
. Not waiting to see the result, he turns the glove to the last goblarian
OOC:
Dissonance activation
.

Rolls

Dissonance activation #1 - (1d20+12)

(1) + 12 = 13

Dissonance activation #2 - (1d20+12)

(9) + 12 = 21

You do not have permission to post in this thread.