OOC Thread for Alpha

load previous
Oct 15, 2022 10:36 am
That was an assumption on my part it seems nothing grants it. Though the monster is stated to have it.

Also are you cool with waiting for a few levels before we delve into all that?
Oct 15, 2022 10:51 am
Jomsviking says:
That was an assumption on my part it seems nothing grants it. Though the monster is stated to have it.
Gotcha. Just because you don’t have Darkvision, doesn’t mean that the DM will not give you sort of a preternatural sense that the monster you are hunting is near.
Jomsviking says:
Also are you cool with waiting for a few levels before we delve into all that?
Totally cool with waiting for a while; I want your character to fulfill his mission in permitted undeath, but still have adventures worthy of legend.
Oct 15, 2022 10:59 am
If you have played darksouls you'll get his mission immediately. He has a cruel fate to kill gods, I think maybe it's to steal godhood for humanity. Like a Promethean legend. He may never even get a chance to pursue such a lofty goal that seeks to go beyond the literal and metaphorical pale.
Oct 20, 2022 1:53 am
Wow lots of posts. Catching up, will post tonight.
Oct 20, 2022 4:13 am
Okay I think I've rolled a 2 on every roll I've made on site.

Edit: Grrr, I guess it's working and I just have awful luck :(
Last edited October 20, 2022 4:13 am

Rolls

is this thing working - (1d20)

(7) = 7

Test - (1d20)

(8) = 8

Test2 - (1d20)

(5) = 5

Test3 - (1d20)

(10) = 10

Oct 22, 2022 8:44 pm
Dang @Plum, that d20 is not your friend

https://i.imgur.com/ZcM08lr.png
Oct 22, 2022 8:47 pm
At least the 8 rolled for CON save made it. :)
Oct 23, 2022 1:50 am
MrFaberJack says:
Dang @Plum, that d20 is not your friend

https://i.imgur.com/ZcM08lr.png
I know! 😪
Oct 24, 2022 5:50 am
Mmh, i have a question about stonecharging:

Stonecharging. You know how to imbue stone with the magma of its own creation. As an action, you can touch a Small or Medium stone to charge it with explosive energy. When you release the stone, it becomes charged and begins to glow, shedding dim orange light in a 5-foot radius. If a creature or object touches the charged stone, it explodes, and each creature within a 10 foot radius takes a number of d6 bludgeoning damage equal to your proficiency bonus. The charge lasts for 1 hour or until the stone explodes, and you can only charge one stone at a time in this way.

The text is not that clear about the possibility of throwing the charged stone.
If I was the DM, I probably wouldn't allow it, or at least I would homerule a system to regulate it, cause that would basically be a free spell with no costs except the risk.
I will leave that to your ruling @HeroAmongMen
Oct 24, 2022 5:53 am
Isn't the only way to use a charged stone by throwing it?

Afterall holding onto it fulfills the touched by a creature requirement to trigger the explosion. So... dont
Oct 24, 2022 6:43 am
MrFaberJack says:
Mmh, i have a question about stonecharging:

Stonecharging. You know how to imbue stone with the magma of its own creation. As an action, you can touch a Small or Medium stone to charge it with explosive energy. When you release the stone, it becomes charged and begins to glow, shedding dim orange light in a 5-foot radius. If a creature or object touches the charged stone, it explodes, and each creature within a 10 foot radius takes a number of d6 bludgeoning damage equal to your proficiency bonus. The charge lasts for 1 hour or until the stone explodes, and you can only charge one stone at a time in this way.

The text is not that clear about the possibility of throwing the charged stone.
If I was the DM, I probably wouldn't allow it, or at least I would homerule a system to regulate it, cause that would basically be a free spell with no costs except the risk.
I will leave that to your ruling @HeroAmongMen
I would say you can throw it, but it is something you would not be proficient with. So, no proficiency bonus on the attack roll.

If you miss the target, depending on how poorly you threw it, it could possibly hit a tree, another player or creature in the fight, etc.

If you miss, I’ll roll a die to determine whether it was above, to the left, or to the right of the target, and if the roll was less than 10, it undershot the target, causing an explosion closer than normal, which, by all rights, may affect you.

I’ll also say, since a handaxe has a throwing distance of 20/60, we will use the same for the grenade rock.

And for during a combat, let’s say that it takes a search action to find a rock, if you don’t have one ready to throw.
Oct 24, 2022 6:51 am
That's fine! Thank you!
Oct 24, 2022 6:39 pm
@GM

If I'm not mistaken, the Spear would not be strength-based since it counts as a Monk/Ascetic weapon. Am I mistaken?
Oct 25, 2022 12:27 am
jollycooperative says:
@GM

If I'm not mistaken, the Spear would not be strength-based since it counts as a Monk/Ascetic weapon. Am I mistaken?
You are correct, I am mistaken. Go ahead and use your dex for that spear.
Oct 25, 2022 5:29 pm
Sooo, if I read correctly, the swarm did 13 damage to Stekko, that means that he should be unconcious (he has 10 hp total), correct? @HeroAmongMen
Oct 25, 2022 5:49 pm
MrFaberJack says:
Sooo, if I read correctly, the swarm did 13 damage to Stekko, that means that he should be unconcious (he has 10 hp total), correct? HeroAmongMen
Damn, that's right.

Does anyone want to help Stekko get out of sight?

Also, @MrFaberJack, you can forego your death saves since y'all are out of initiative.
Oct 25, 2022 6:36 pm
MrFaberJack says:
Sooo, if I read correctly, the swarm did 13 damage to Stekko, that means that he should be unconcious (he has 10 hp total), correct? @HeroAmongMen
Oh geez I didn't realize.
Oct 25, 2022 7:19 pm
Hopefully Tyrantmaws don't like dead meat XD
Oct 25, 2022 11:31 pm
Bracus suddenly realizes that Stekko is down, and he rushes over to him and takes the time to cast a cure wound on him before helping him to take cover.
Last edited October 25, 2022 11:32 pm

Rolls

Cure Wounds - (1d8+3)

(7) + 3 = 10

Stealth Check - (1d20+1)

(17) + 1 = 18

load next

You do not have permission to post in this thread.