Hello World- Let's tell a story!

Be sure to read and follow the guidelines for our forums.

Feb 29, 2024 10:55 pm
Hi guys!

I'm new here, but I'm very interested in storytelling and narrative-forward games. I started playing DnD 5e, but I did not enjoy the experience. I really thought I was interested in a tactical, super crunchy system, but couldn't ever seem to get into the plot or the groove of the game. I eventually had a really un-fun experience in a friend's game that turned me off from 5e, so I started to look around. I learned very quickly that most games (pathfinder, call of cthulu, etc.) were basically DnD clones with different settings, and that any mechanics they had that were unique didn't solve any of the problems that I had experienced. I stumbled upon PbtA games on accident with the release of Avatar Legends at GenCon last year (2023) and fell in love with the focus on switching narrative control and failing forward. Since discovering the game, I have run 7 sessions as a GM (one short campaign, a one-shot, and the beginning of a longer campaign that is still ongoing). I am interested in play-by-post games as a way to learn more about GMing through practicing playing/GMing with other players outside of my group, and so that I can be involved with more stories. I am excited to dive in!
Feb 29, 2024 11:12 pm
Welcome, GameMaster!

If you want to see how GP functions, here are links to the New GP Member Guide, the forum rules, this video introduction made by user Qralloq and a little helpful formatting guide made by user Adam. You might also be interested in looking through some public games as well to get a feel for the site.
If you have any questions about how to use the site, you can put them into our Questions and Help subforum.

To join a game, keep your eyes on the Games Tavern, where GMs advertise their games and look for players.