OOC Chat

load previous
Feb 26, 2019 7:08 pm
GeneCortess says:
OOC: Can Nela call lightning on the caster one and get anything else safely?
Quote:
A bolt of lightning flashes down from the cloud to that point. Each creature within 5 feet of that point must make a Dexterity saving throw.
If you were to designate a point 5ft behind the caster, then the wereshark and hostages would be safely 10ft away from the lightning. Like before, I would randomly determine whether Zale is safe or not.
Feb 27, 2019 6:36 am
campeador says:
1 miss, 3 hits. 26 damage. I took the liberty of rolling the were shark's save against Stunning Strike (failed)
Yes, I would prefer you roll the saves yourself to save time. In most cases you won't know the correct modifier but it still helps me if you just roll a straight d20 and include the save DC in the roll reason.

Fortunately, you saw me save in the previous round ao this was correct, and Snaggle-tooth is now stunned!
campeador says:
Can I use my 45ft movement to swim away, taking the survivors with me? Safely enough so the don't drown?
Snaggle-tooth is stunned, so can't stop you from taking the survivors, and I know your Drunken Technique prevents OA's from the spellcaster, but it's still an action to free the survivors from the net.
Feb 27, 2019 6:50 am
I was thinking I'd take them net and all.
Feb 27, 2019 6:55 am
In that case, yes you can, but half movement.

Your first unarmed strike takes Snaggle-tooth out, so I will apply the other two hits on the spellcaster. Do you want to spend another ki or two to attempt another Stunning Strike?
Feb 27, 2019 8:22 am
1 additional stun attempt only. May need ki later.

Added the CON save. Don't know the spellcaster's save bonus.
Last edited February 27, 2019 8:32 am
Feb 27, 2019 5:36 pm
Gene (Doc Nela) says:
By the way , could Nela use control water to flash flood the top of the deck to put out fires? Just a later thought.
Yes. You have two available source of water right: the sea, and buckets of water used by the gunners to swab the cannons after each shot.
Feb 27, 2019 7:20 pm
Just a heads up, I'm going to be extremely busy again this weekend.
Feb 27, 2019 7:21 pm
No worries boss. Don't over do it and we will be here waiting for you when you get back.
Feb 27, 2019 7:23 pm
Well, it's not the weekend yet. As soon as LegionChimera posts Grog's action, I can post enemy actions.
Mar 4, 2019 4:17 am
GeneCortess says:
I understand the theory on that you can't maintain two concentration spells, but I'm not maintaining the control water. I will let it go just like go just like any other spell casted. I don't take the option to maintain it, but if that isn't good enough then I will have to recast the Call Lightning later and I guess that I have Control Water to play with.
I understand what you're trying to do, just slinging the spell without a thought while holding the other. But that's not the way it works. Those spells marked Concentration require your focus for, at the very least, the 6 second duration of a combat turn. You cast any one of these spells, you shift your focus to that and drop Concentration on any spell you were holding before.

So if you cast Control Water, you WILL lose Concentration on Call Lightning, and will have to recast it later.

Are you casting Control Water then? I ask again because if you do, everyone must make a STR save or get swept into the sea. The spell says "20 ft wave" but because I think it is a great solution to the fires on the ship, I am taking liberties letting you make it 3 ft instead. Still, 3 feet of water is knee-deep to thigh deep for her humans and elves, depending on their height. It is waist deep for Grog, and neck deep for Kitty.
Mar 4, 2019 5:44 am
OOC:
Thanx Nela is going to drop Call Lightning and go with Control Water to wash the deck of fires.
Mar 4, 2019 7:07 am
Right on!

Okay, I have posted the result (went through multiple edits, so if you've read it, make sure you reread it one more time after this).
Mar 16, 2019 10:34 pm
I've been completely forgetting about the weresharks' Blood Frenzy feature! They should have advantage on attacks against wounded targets!

And have you noticed no one's been bitten yet except for Valrakas? Get ready to see some CON saves vs. lycanthropy next round :-D
Mar 16, 2019 11:09 pm
NEVER going to land..! They can air mail me my belongings...
Mar 22, 2019 6:22 pm
Quote:
Can Nela by using control water attempt to make the water hold the ship in position and on the side use it to aid Kitty to get aboard?
Choose one effect:

You can use FLOOD to create a wave again. If Zale helps Kitty like he did the woman and child, they can both make it aboard. But like last time, the wave could potentially wash creatures off the main deck (currently, those are Ian, Khiiral, Bait, Jetsam, and nameless crew members).

Alternatively, you can REDIRECT FLOW to attempt to slow the ship, not stop it outright.
Mar 22, 2019 6:43 pm
Wouldn't redirecting the flow send those that in the water near a flying unless they manage to hold on the ship?
Mar 22, 2019 7:45 pm
I'm sorry, could you clarify?
Mar 22, 2019 9:19 pm
I would like to know if Nela is doing the wave or not before I post my action.
Mar 22, 2019 10:15 pm
Okay boat is going one way. And I force the water to move against. Yes it is slowing the boat, but what is it going to do to any near the boat as the boat will slow but I doubt those next to the boat will be slowed. Aren't they going to pulled must rather fast toward the direction of the new fast current?
Last edited March 22, 2019 10:16 pm
Mar 22, 2019 10:26 pm
I'm going to rule those with a swim speed (merrows, weresharks, dragon turtle, Zale, Valrakas) might be slowed somewhat if they swim against it, but not swept away. Kitty, however, will need to make swim checks (athletics).

Keep in mind that the spell description doesn't specify any of this, and may not even be intended to achieve the result you are hoping for here. But I am ruling that you CAN do it (because I like creative solutions like these) but consequently, in the interest of verisimilitude, there can be unwanted side effects.
load next

You do not have permission to post in this thread.